The neck plate & switch

I purchased a standard chrome Strat neck plate from Warmoth.  Ed used a neck plate off of an early 1960’s Strat, and it had the serial number 61071 stamped into it.  As this neck plate is obviously already taken, I will be using a 4mm numerical stamping kit, and punching the number in myself.  In a manufacturing flaw, the second digit on Ed’s guitar appears to be slightly crooked, so I will have to compensate for that also.

Warmoth also supplied me with the 3 way switch, again unwired, that will sit in the middle pickup cavity.  I was able to get an accurate reproduction made by the same manufacturer that Ed used, CRL.  It looks great, and looks identical to the original, all the way down to the external spring.

Both of these pieces will require EXTENSIVE relicing and rusting, especially the switch.

Other miscellaneous parts that I got from Warmoth include a wiring kit, copper shielding tape, the input jack and jack plate, and screws in various sizes.

A shiny new neck plate, sans serial number

A shiny new neck plate, sans serial number

An authentic CRL 3 way switch, sans rust

An authentic CRL 3 way switch, sans rust

Other misc parts from Warmoth

Other misc parts from Warmoth

One Response to “The neck plate & switch”

  1. an older crl will have brown/red phenolic like eds. its seems you’re going all out. just trying to help.

Leave a comment